Fred and Max Eatery, Somerset West

Fred and Max Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Where | Fred and Max is an adorable little eatery in Somerset West. If you find yourself on that part of the world, it is definitely worth a visit. The laid-back vibe and pretty décor add to its quirky charm.


What | The burgers are anything but average. There are several different beef and chicken options, as well as lamb, pork and vegetarian burgers. I ordered a “CM burger”: a chicken-mayo patty with tomato, onion, chilli, pepperdew and sour cream. I was so excited about the unfamiliar flavour combinations, but I missed one crucial detail… I forgot that I’m not the biggest fan of chicken-mayo! The taste was pretty good, but the texture of the patty wasn’t for me. I would have preferred a chicken breast instead. If chicken-mayo is the reason that you get out of bed in the morning, definitely give this burger a go! The shining winner of this meal, for me, was the spicy sauce on the side – it added a nice kick to the burger and brought all the flavours together. My friend had the “Yes Sir” burger: a beef patty with camembert, pancetta, avo and sweet chilli sauce. She absolutely loved it.


 The CM Burger costs R90

The Yes Sir Burger costs R95


Conclusion | Although I definitely wouldn’t order this burger again, I have found a firm favourite in Fred and Max. I can’t wait to try more of their  burgers soon.

Have you been to the Fred and Max Eatery before? What was your favourite burger?

One thought on “Fred and Max Eatery, Somerset West

Leave a Reply

