Jonkershuis, Groot Constantia

Where | Jonkershuis is a lovely restaurant situated on the Groot Constantia wine estate. It is actually fairly affordable (depending on what you order), so it is not limited to special occasions. One of the obvious highlights was being able to order a glass of wine from the estate. The decor is rustic and pretty: I particularly appreciated the proteas dotted around the courtyard. Best to book ahead to avoid being disappointed. I’d recommend going for a leisurely stroll around the grounds after your meal. The large oaks and vast property offer many interesting points to relax or to take photos.


What | I had not intended to get a burger… But when the table next to us received their food, I knew that it would be foolish not to order one. I am so glad that I did! The beef burger was probably one of the best burgers that I have ever eaten. The meat was tender and good quality, and the patty was well-seasoned and cooked properly (lovely and pink). The bun-patty ratio was perfect – the burger and the roll were even a similar width. Despite my regular moans about BBQ sauce, this was the right quantity and not overpowering at all. The pickles (gherkins?) added the necessary sharpness. The chips were also delicious. The only thing that I didn’t like about the meal was the mayo dipping sauce on the side… But, not eating it did not detract from the burger or the chips at all.


The Flame-Grilled Beef Burger is R88


Conclusion | If I had to pick my favourite burger from those that I have reviewed so far, it would probably be the beef burger from Jonkershuis. The friendly service, surprising affordability, pretty surrounds and convenient location all added to the experience.

Leave a Reply

