Mugg and Bean, Cavendish

Where | Ok, let’s be honest. Restaurants in malls are not the most glamorous. But they’re necessary for breaks between errands. Mugg and Bean is a classic. Coffee is obvious, but I never know which meal to order, because their menus are so expansive. I was meeting a friend, and had been eying a particular burger for a while…


What | One of the new burgers is the Sesame-crusted Buttermilk Chicken Burger. Oh my gosh. This can better be described as a meal on a bun. The burger contains chicken strips, coleslaw, parmesan, lettuce, tomato, and a citrus dressing . It’s probably one of the nicest dishes that I’ve had at Mugg and Bean. Although chicken strips were a nice change and the ‘slaw was a fun addition, it didn’t feel like a burger to me. It felt more like an American-style shwarma. I will say that the citrus dressing was an excellent choice – it complimented all the flavours well. The burger can be served with normal or sweet potato chips, of which I chose the latter. I can imagine this burger is not for everyone, especially if you’re not a big fan of  lime or coleslaw.


The chicken burger is R69,90


Conclusion | I really liked this burger! It was reasonably priced for the amount of food. It was a fun twist on what a chicken burger is expected to be, and was surprisingly tasty. While I wouldn’t necessarily order this if I had a burger craving,  I would recommend it for its flavors.

 

Which Mugg and Bean has the best burgers? Have you tried the new chicken burger?

Leave a Reply

