The Copper Club Eatery, Newlands

Have

Where | The Copper Club Eatery is a new burger and pizza restaurant in the student-suburb of Newlands. After hearing recommendations, a friend and I decided it was the perfect place for Sunday lunch. We were really happy with the hipster décor and the tasty coffee options. I promise that I wasn’t going to order a burger… I went with the firm intention of having a salad (for the record, they looked really good). But when the waiter announced a burger special, I couldn’t resist! The burger special is everyday (!) between midday and 5pm.


What | Although the burger options are extensive, the special was only for the Swiss Burger – with your choice of patty – and skinny fries. The burger has Emmentaler cheese, caramelized onions and truffle oil. I chose a beef patty, cooked medium-rare. Oh my giddy aunt, did this burger deliver! The flavours, the textures, the seasoning… It was delicious! This is what a simple burger should be. The meat was lovely and pink, plus the combination of the cheese and pickles offered a nice tartness. I must admit, I’m not really sure what truffle oil tastes like, so I couldn’t single out that flavor. The chips on the side were also seasoned, and came with aioli (my favourite!). The size was just right for lunch, and I was full until dinner time.


The Swiss burger special costs R49


Conclusion | What a treat! Not only was this one of the nicest beef burgers that I’ve had, but it was so refreshing to have an all week daytime burger special. This burger (plus chips and aioli) would easily have cost over R90. Go go go!
What is your favourite Copper Club burger? Have you tried their day-time special?

Leave a Reply

